Mr Aditya Puri is among 14 inspirational Indian men and one woman "who shone brightest" in their respective fields from sports to politics, film, literature, business and fashion. The awards were announced late last month.

Rubbing shoulders with Mr. Puri are Actor Amitabh Bachchan (Lifetime Achievement), J&K chief minister Omar Abdullah (Young Leader), Minister of State for External Affairs Shashi Tharoor (Inspiration), Tennis ace Leander Paes (Sports), Dr Rajendra Pachauri (Global Indian), Actors Hritik Roshan (Most Stylish Man), Saif Ali Khan (the Ultimate GQ Man), NDTV Anchor Sreenivasan Jain (TV Personality), Fashion designer Rajesh Pratap Singh (Designer), and Katrina Kaif (Woman) among others.

GQ, as we all know, is the world's leading men's magazine and "for over a decade, the GQ Men of the Year awards, both in America and Britain, have been congregations of some of the most powerful personalities on the planet and, significant markers of achievement, "writes the magazine in its editorial in its latest (October) issue that has just hit the news stands. Barack Obama, Leonardo DiCaprio, Bill Clinton, Michael Caine, Rio Ferdinand and Gordon Ramsay have been some of previous winners.

GQ's editorial team compiled a list of categories of excellence and the winners were decided by an elite panel along with GQ's editorial staff. The panelists included Vir Sanghvi, Karan Johar, Mahesh Bhupathi and Raymond Bickson. The awards were given here in Mumbai on September 27 at a star-studded show.

October 8, 2009